Starfield - Ultimate Prep List

The Starfield box art is shown with cosmonauts looking to space
Credit: Bethesda


The Starfield box art is shown with cosmonauts looking to space
Credit: Bethesda

Starfield fans have been wondering when exactly its release time will be and when they can start their journey; we have that information, and more here for you. Whether you are looking for the Starfield release time for the UK or even release time in Australia, we have you covered.

We have the exact Starfield unlock time for all major cities around the world, so be sure to check out our handy reference guide below to make sure that you know your region's time to play right away.

When Can I Play Starfield?

Whether you have opted for the Premium Edition to get early access or you are planning on playing the Standard Edition, we have the global release for your area below in our Starfield launch times guide :

LOCATION
EARLY ACCESS
STANDARD LAUNCH
LOS ANGELES
31 AUGUST - 5:00 PM / 17:00 PDT
5 SEPTEMBER - 5:00 PM / 17:00 PDT
CHICAGO
31 AUGUST - 7:00 PM / 19:00 CDT
5 SEPTEMBER - 7:00 PM / 19:00 CDT
MEXICO CITY
31 AUGUST - 6:00 PM / 18:00 CST
5 SEPTEMBER 6:00 PM / 18:00 CST
NEW YORK
31 AUGUST - 8:00 PM / 20:00 EDT
5 SEPTEMBER - 8:00 PM / 20:00 EDT
SAO PAULO
31 AUGUST - 9:00 PM / 21:00 BRT
5 SEPTEMBER - 9:00 PM / 21:00 BRT
LONDON
1 SEPTEMBER - 1:00 AM / 01:00 BST
6 SEPTEMBER - 1:00 AM / 01:00 BST
PARIS
1 SEPTEMBER - 2:00 AM / 02:00 CEST
6 SEPTEMBER - 2:00 AM - 02:00 CEST
BERLIN
1 SEPTEMBER - 2:00 AM / 02:00 CEST
6 SEPTEMBER - 2:00 AM / 02:00 CEST
RIYADH
1 SEPTEMBER - 3:00 AM / 03:00 AST
6 SEPTEMBER - 3:00 AM / 03:00 AST
DELHI
1 SEPTEMBER - 5:30 AM / 05:00 IST
6 SEPTEMBER - 5:30 AM / 05:00 IST
HONG KONG
1 SEPTEMBER - 8:00 AM / 08:00 HKT
6 SEPTEMBER - 8:00 AM / 08:00 HKT
BEIJING
1 SEPTEMBER - 8:00 AM / 08:00 CST
6 SEPTEMBER - 8:00 AM / 08:00 CST
TOKYO
1 SEPTEMBER - 9:00 AM / 09:00 JST
6 SEPTEMBER - 9:00AM / 09:00 JST
SYDNEY
1 SEPTEMBER - 10:00 AM / 10:00 AEST
6 SEPTEMBER - 10:00 AM / 10:00 AEST
AUCKLAND
1 SEPTEMBER - 12:00 PM / 12:00 NZST
6 SEPTEMBER - 12:00 PM / 12:00 NZST
The cover of the game box for Starfield
expand image
Credit: Bethesda
Preload from August 17

Since Bethesda announced that Starfield has gone gold, preload began on August 17. That means players can start installing the game right now. Getting the actual game on your hard drive is one step closer to getting to actually play it; the Starfield release countdown begins!

Bear in mind that there may be an additional patch arriving on day one. The file size for the patch is unknown, but make sure you have plenty of room available come Starfield launch time. However, given the fact Bethesda were encouraged to delay the game for a year to bug fix, this may mean that the size of the patch may not take up such a chunk of storage.

What is Starfield's Filesize?

The city of New Atlantis
expand image
Credit: Bethesda
Starfield is a big one

Starfield is going to be absolutely massive. That should come as no surprise, considering it will have over 1000 planets that players can visit. Combine the galaxy's enormity with the fact it is a console-exclusive title for Xbox Series X and S, and you might need to clear some hard drive space.

Being a next-gen-only title, you will need to run Starfield from the internal storage or Series X/S storage expansion. The install size will be 126.1GB for Xbox and 139.84 GB for PC. While the Series X has 1TB space as standard, the Series S only has 512GB. So be sure to make room during the Starfield countdown for your galactic adventures!

How To Preload Starfield

Todd Howard shows off his watch
expand image
Credit: Bethesda
It's time...preload begins

Getting the preload set up is quite an easy process. On Xbox, head to the Starfield store page and hit download. This will install the game onto your chosen SDD, provided you have an active Xbox Game Pass subscription or have pre-ordered the game digitally.

For PC players, you must head over to the Xbox Game Pass app and hit install there if you plan on playing via Game Pass; if you have pre-ordered on Steam, you must log in to your account and select install to preload.

Again, we suggest clearing space before downloading the preload; Starfield's file size is enormous, so start making room early!

When Does Starfield Release on Game Pass?

Great news for Game Pass owners: Starfield will release on Game Pass alongside its first global launch. Starfield will be released on Wednesday, September 6 2023, on Xbox Series X, Xbox Game Pass and Steam at the exact same time.

PC Specs

For those who are planning on playing Starfield via PC, make sure you have the space ready and the hardware.

We have the recommended specs for you below:

Minimum System Requirements

  • Operating System: Windows 10 version 22H2 (10.0.19045)
  • Processor: AMD Ryzen 5 2600X, Intel Core i7-6800K
  • Memory: 16 GB RAM
  • Graphics: AMD Radeon RX 5700, NVIDIA GeForce 1070 Ti
  • Direct X: Version 12
  • Network: Broadband Internet connection
  • Storage: 125 GB Available Space
  • Additional Notes: SSD Required

Recommended Requirements

  • Operating System: Windows 10/11 with updates
  • Processor: AMD Ryzen 5 3600X, Intel i5-10600K
  • Memory: 16 GB RAM
  • Graphics: AMD Radeon RX 6800 XT, NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2080
  • Direct X: Version 12
  • Network: Broadband Internet connection
  • Storage: 125 GB Available Space
  • Additional Notes: SSD Required

Make sure you are fully prepared to play right away; check out some of our other guides to help, like our character creation guide, or read up on DLSS availability for Starfield. Whatever it may be regarding Starfield, we have you covered.

For all things Starfield, stick with us at Starfield Portal.

This Article's Topics

Explore new topics and discover content that's right for you!

GuidesPre-Release Guides